Day 3: The response

Three days and one blog post has generated a lot more response than I expected.  I assumed that I would be left to my own devices — but everyone seems to have an opinion.

For the most part, people have been very helpful.  Last night, to my surprise, I learned that party ring biscuits aren’t suitable for vegetarians.  People have already been suggesting supplements and recipes to try.  There have been negative replies.  The stereotypical ‘Oh, you’re going to turn in to a pasty hippie’ has been a popular remark.  You are telling a girl, whose nicknames include ‘Casper’, about the woes of being pasty?  I’m quite content with my pale complexion thank you very much.  I know a fair few peaky, dreary meat-eaters actually.  The boyfriend has broached the matter with some trepidation, he feels he couldn’t possibly like anyone who isn’t a carnivore.  It would appear that people feel very strongly about food and other people’s choices.

Now for mother… On the day of ‘veggie’ enlightenment, I text mother asparagus to inform her of my decision.  One did not receive a reply that evening, nor was it mentioned in messages the following morning.  It was clear that she was ignoring my little text.  When I rang her, I got the following response, “How long will this phase last for?”.  This was of course accompanied by an exasperated tone.

I’d like to dismiss her scepticism.  But she does have a point.  I was one of those fussy children that would spend ages pushing food around the plate, until I had successfully eradicated any bits I viewed as ‘alien’.  Spaghetti Bolognese was a lengthy affair — onions and mushrooms had to be picked out before I could eat any of it, not forgetting the dreaded tomato!  The fussy stage was followed by many others.  There was the ‘no-piggy’ phase.  This was the result of a science lesson involving the dissection of pig organs.  I did not eat any meat from a pig for about four years. Bye bye sausages!  There was also the ‘no cheese’ phase.  I made an abrupt decision that I would not eat cheese anymore.  This wasn’t ideal socially, especially when one’s friends at the time had an unhealthy obsession with Pizza Hut.  There has been the ‘Fair Trade phase’, the ‘survive-on-a-yoghurt-a-day phase’ and the ‘OCD Skittles phase’.  The phase that turned permanent revolves around happy chickens.   The ‘free-range chicken phase’  involved me contributing to meal-time conversation with horrific tales of chickens laying dead in their own faeces.  During this time, I told a shocked R.E. class that I would give up my life for the cause of chickens.  I suppose I considered myself to be the Joan of Arc of poultry.  Whilst I no longer lecture people about our feathery friends, I still stand up for them.  There is no excuse to still be buying produce from caged hens. 

Despite my shady history with food, I am surely too old to go through any more phases now?  This is why I feel that I will be a vegetarian for life, not just for Christmas.  Mother asparagus, I think you might be eating your words this time.  The response from Papa asparagus is yet to come, but it is certain to be comedy gold.

Well, in the unlikely event that you had not considered me slightly odd before, you probably do now.  However, I can assure you that I am perfectly sane.  Tomorrow’s post will be less of a ramble and I will be throwing lots of ‘veggie’ facts at you.  I know you simply can not wait.

Quorn Kisses,

the somewhat silly asparagus.

5 thoughts on “Day 3: The response

  1. I’m sure you’re aware of this but iron deficiency is a big problem with vegetarians, so you’ll need plenty of iron rich veggies or supplements! Also, I was told by a vegetarian friend that eating too much tofu and soya can lead to fungal overgrowth in the gut, not entirely sure how but she has more knowledge about being a veggie than I, so watch out for that ;).
    I have also contemplated about being a vegetarian for moral purposes, but I remain content eating free-range and organic food as, ultimately, I don’t think one more vegetarian is going to make a difference to farm animal welfare. However, lamb is something I refuse to eat because I have cared for ewes giving birth and thinking of those little lambies wagging their tails whilst they suckle still sends a guilty pang through my heart if I was ever confronted with a shoulder of lamb or a chop.
    Goodluck with your vegetarian journey and I hope you stick with it!

    • Hello. Thank-you for your comment. My iron levels have always been good, even when I’ve been extremely unhealthy, so it will be interesting to see the affects a veggie diet will have. I might take supplements, but I would much rather try and get everything I need from my food — so iron rich veggies sound like a plan :). Ahhh thanks, I’ll definitely watch out for that! — I don’t want to start growing mushrooms in my tummy!
      Free-range is one of the main things that interests me, so it’s good to hear you focus on that. I totally understand what you mean about feeling as though one person won’t make a difference to farming — I can’t really argue against it. But if I join any organisations relating to it, maybe we as a group could make some changes. Whilst I’ve never looked after sheep, lamb is something I haven’t eaten since I was very very young. Those cute little lambs frolicking around fields are too adorable to be food!
      Thanks again Guilty Carnivore :).

  2. Goodluck!! I turned vegetarian in August this year and I got all the same responses but I am loving it!! It is not hard to incorporate iron into your diet, infact green veggies like spinach have alot more iron than red meat if combined with a little lemon juice or other vitamin c ingredients. I think it’s a great thing you’ve chosen to become a vegetarian!! Put aside the little animals and think about how you are helping the environment :) Just 10% less meat production will make a massive difference! Every little helps and if everyone thought “one more person won’t make a difference” then nothing in life would ever change!!
    Ps sorry looong comment lol but welldone and keep going :) x xx

    • Hello veghotpot. Thank-you for your comment. Ah, so you’re fairly new too? Glad to hear it has been a positive change. It has only been four days for me but I’m feeling extremely upbeat. I wouldn’t have thought of adding lemon juice — thanks for that tip. Don’t apologise about the looong comment — I really appreciate the advice and encouragement. I’m looking forward to delving in to all the positives such as helping the environment. Being a veggie seems like such a good thing to do. I’m excited. Please keep me updated with how you are getting on. I’ll definitely be using some of your yummy recipes! xxx

  3. Pingback: Day 9: Progress | The Silly Asparagus

A penny for your thoughts?

