Day 6: Christmas shopping

I woke up at 12am this morning and my head was spinning with all things ‘veggie’ as I tried to get back to sleep.  I want to start tackling the big issues such as animal welfare and the ecological impacts.  However, I do not want to do it in an ignorant way.  I need to do some more research before throwing facts at you.  I start getting really passionate about particular aspects of being a vegetarian, but then realise that my lifestyle contradicts it in some way.  I appreciate that I am over-thinking all of this, and frustrating my readers — ‘Collette, get a grip’ comes to mind.  This is important to me though and I want to be thorough.  Once I ‘get a grip’, writing this blog will be simple.  Today is not the day, and I am going to take the easy route on this lazy Sunday: shopping!

If you are not one of those keen (green)beans that has not only finished their Christmas shopping, but wrapped it too, consider this silly asparagus as your personal shopper.  Here are some guilt-free gifts (minus some of the price tags) for you to peruse at your leisure…

The Body Shop is a fail-proof choice.  Their gift sets start from just £6 (perfect as a secret santa present) and go up to £25.  All of their products smell heavenly.  The Body Shop takes pride in sourcing their ingredients responsibly and has always said no to animal testing.  http://www.thebodyshop.co.uk/_en/_gb/index.aspx

Medium mango gift box -- around £25

Suitable for fashionable carnivores, vegetarians and eco-warriors… Stella McCartney.  I will talk about Stella (and the vegetarian / vegan McCartney clan) later on in my blog.  In the meantime, here are a few lust-worthy pieces…

'Falabella' faux leather foldover tote, around £700

Pembridge wallet (bio cotton), around £360

 Melissa is the place to look for quirky, plastic, shoes.  I’ve had quite a few pairs of Vivienne Westwood for Melissa shoes.  They are comfy, eco-friendly AND scented like bubblegum.

Fuchsia Flocked Skyscrapers, Vivienne Westwood for Melissa, around £128

 www.fashion-conscience.com is a great website for clothes, bags and gifts.  Here are some highlights for the boys…

Fair trade NV London Calcutta Messenger, around £155

Econation recycled cork ipod case, around £12

Branch chunky knit, around £90

Miscellaneous goodies…

Recipe book: The Accidental Vegetarian, Simon Rimmer, around £9.99

Econation DIY speakers, around £15

Enjoy your shopping!

With love,

the shopping asparagus.

A penny for your thoughts?

