Day 100: Kanye West

Hello my darlings.

Apologies that I have been a way for a while. It would seem that asparagus lead busy lifestyles. I am pretty sure that today is my 100th day as a vegetarian! Today, I want to talk fashion. At first, this post is going to have a rant about Kanye West, but I hope to reach a valuable point.

During London Fashion Week (February 2012), I found myself face to face with Kanye West. Kanye — let us pretend for a moment that I am on first name terms with the man, was wearing every pastel shade imaginable.  This chance encounter reminded me of what was coming: his second collection, which would be shown at Paris Fashion Week.  His show took place last night, and Twitter was too preoccupied with his fabulous after party, that the collection took a backseat.  However, today the claws are out.  I have several problems with Kanye and his attempt at breaking into the fashion industry. My first, is that his first collection was terrible. Despite this, he was still able to show in Paris, again. I have friends who are fashion students. Many of them are so incredibly talented. They, and other designers, work hard day and night, and the likelihood is that unless someone amazing such as Lulu Kennedy (Fashion East’s fairy Godmother) discovers them, or NEWGEN supports them, their designs will never see a fashion week.  Whilst they are learning their crafts the hard way, I can’t imagine that Kanye even knows how to stitch a button.

So, why have I featured Kanye on a vegetarian blog? One word: Fur. I am not going to nag you all about the fur industry and throw red paint over your clothes, but it is hideous. I know people who love fur, and will defend wearing it until they are blue in the face. I admit that I own fur. I made my fur purchases before I became a vegetarian and they are vintage. I can’t do anything about animals who were turned into coats 60 years.  However, we are now in 2012, we do not live in the arctic and faux fur no longer looks faux.

Kanye’s collection featured a lot of fur last night.  Some of the fur he used is known as ‘Astrakhan’.  This is the pelt of unborn lambs, yes foetal lambs.  For the fabric to be called ‘Astrakhan’, the lamb it has brutally taken from must be under the age of three days. Congratulations Mr. West, not only did you produce the worst fitting collection that Paris has seen (since your last collection), you managed to kill some sheep and their unborn lambs in the process.  Bravo! What added to the fur-fest was Kim Kardashian, brazenly sat on the Front Row in a white fur stole.  Yes, Kim, you have money. But temperatures in Paris were approximately 10°c last night. Unless you were roughing it in an igloo in Finland, I am rather certain that you did not need an animal draped around your neck.

Here’s my advice Kanye, the fashion pack are not all vegetarians and will literally eat you alive.  One of your albums is named ‘College Dropout’.  May I suggest that you return to college and get some proper training, before making collection number three.  Maybe save us the laughter and the column inches altogether and go back to making music.  Oh, and stay away from the lambs.

Yes, some of you will disagree with what I have said.  I would just like to point out that Stella McCartney produces beautiful collections season after season.  She has never compromised her position on fur in the process.  Meadham Kirchhoff showed some spectacular monster-inspired fur coats during fashion week (see below), but no animals were harmed in the process because the fur was fake.

If you are going to wear real fur, don’t buy it ignorantly.  Make sure you make an informed decision and understand the message you are sending out.  Around 85% of fur comes from farms.  China is one of the largest exporters of fur. The idea of wearing mink might not bother you, they are seen as a pest, especially to farmers.  But what about dogs?  Yes, you could be wearing a dog on your back.  Oh right, you fancy yourself as the next Cruella De Vil.  Wonderful.

In the next few days, this riled asparagus will discuss leather.

Thanks.

Lots of love.

x

4 thoughts on “Day 100: Kanye West

  1. Pingback: Day 108: Leather | The Silly Asparagus

  2. Can’t get my head round your comment, “I admit that I own fur. I made my fur purchases before I became a vegetarian and they are vintage. I can’t do anything about animals who were turned into coats 60 years”.
    Whilst I agree that you can’t do anything about the death of animals 60 years ago, I’m sure that I don’t have to point out to you that by simply owning and displaying a fur coat is tacit approval of the murder of these animals?
    Kanye West just lives up to the stereotype of gangsta/fashionista and is a parody of all that that embodies.
    No one outside of London and New York takes this misogynistic and egotistical middle class faux intelligentsia seriously.
    A great comment from PETA’s SVP,
    Dan Matthews told Britain’s Daily Mail, “Kanye can’t help making himself look like an idiot, whether at an awards show or a fashion show. He and his girlfriend look like pathetic creatures from a shabby roadside zoo.”

    Pretty much how I view any fur wearing cretin.

A penny for your thoughts?

