Day 108: Leather

Good moro my lovelies.

Last week, I shared some of my feelings about fur (https://sillyasparagus.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/kanyewest/).  A subject that I have not yet discussed is leather.  In my very first blog post, I described my love for leather handbags.  My initial reasons for becoming a vegetarian were not related to animal welfare, but such issues have become something I am now very interested in.

When turning vegetarian, the first thing I did was sign up to PETA (http://www.peta.org.uk/).  PETA can get a very negative response because they often deal with topics in extreme ways.  Whilst I do not agree with all their publicity stunts, they are a wonderful charity and I have learned a lot from them.  They have some great campaigns, such as the ‘I’d rather go naked than wear fur’ adverts, a slogan which they have been using for years.

In this PETA video, Stella McCartney discusses the leather industry and she makes some eye-opening points.  As well as discussing animals, Stella also points out the effects on humans in the leather industry.

Whilst I will not be getting rid of any leather products that I already own, I will make informed choices in the future.

With love,

The Silly Asparagus.

A penny for your thoughts?

